25) Brandi Carlile – Hard Way Home

IMG_7039

Now that I’m writing all these posts, it seems like a common theme is ‘home’ – all aspects of it. I find my song psyche so interesting. Even though I feel at home at my parents house, I don’t 100% feel like it’s home. Even thought I’m at home in the US, it doesn’t feel like I’m 100% home. Even when I go home to Panama, it doesn’t feel like it’s still 100% home. I was really into researching Third Culture Kids for a while because I felt like I was having a cultural identity crisis…but I digress.

I discovered Brandi Carlile in the last year. She’s been around for longer and I’m kind of disappointed I didn’t find her before. She’s this bad ass, female folks star. She is about as country as I can get, and I live in Texas now, there’s country everywhere, but I’m resistant to being indoctrinated.

She’s got a folksy sound and I my favorite part of this song is ‘I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up’ because I’m still trying to figure it out. I mean I’ve got a career and it’s good, but is that all I’m going to be for the rest of my life? It’s never easy or black and white for me. I always want more. ‘Looks like I’m taking the hard way home…’

Leave a Reply

