28) Tears for Fears – Everybody Wants To Rule the World

IMG_7116

“Welcome to your life, there’s no turning back…”

I love you 80’s music! This is one of my personal theme songs and has been for quite a while. I think it probably stems from a pretty deep understanding of power (how you can get it and what you can achieve with it) and cynicism. Which is a really weird lesson to learn about at a young age, but it has a great pop beat, so it can’t be that dire.

But really, whenever I get sad about my life, it’s circumstances, what I’m doing, etc. I always remind myself “Welcome to your life, there’s no turning back…” Sometimes it helps, sometimes it doesn’t, but it reminds me that it is mine to make mistakes in, to show up to, to change my circumstances, and I don’t really need to worry about anyone else (even though I still do). I’m a work in progress.

I went on a girls trip to upstate New York a very long time ago. We played this on the juke box at this bar we went to, several times, and it was awesome! (I’m sure the patrons hated us, but I don’t care.) Because ‘all for freedom and for pleasure, nothing ever lasts forever, everybody wants to rule the world.’

In the end, don’t we all want to rule, at the very least, our own worlds?

Leave a Reply

