3) The Bangles – Walk Like An Egyptian

photo-2

Break out the tambourine, harem pants, and 80’s spandex. Every holiday needs choreography, and for that we have the 80’s classic, Walk Like An Egyptian. I used to love to dance around to this song when I was 5/6. Plus my lacking childhood coordination made my Egyptian dancing “THAT” much better and it required ZERO skills or rhythm.

(Little did I know that only a few years later I would be trying to master MC Hammer’s Running Man, which was on a more complicated level than Walk Like An Egyptian. The pants, however, surprisingly similar.)

Get out there today and Walk Like An Egyptian. It can be in your kitchen, across a snowy street, in your cubicle, at the gym. Smile, listen to the music, and DANCE your ass off! Send me pictures, boomerangs, videos, I want to see it!

PS – If this song was released today, it could be seen as cultural misappropriation. My intent is not to offend or be insensitive. My only intention is to dance. All cultures should get out there and shake what their mama gave ’em, the world would probably be a happier place. Bonus points to whoever gives flash mobs a comeback.

Leave a comment